Approaching 29.

photo

In five weeks, I will be twenty-nine and clichés are running through my head. The two most prominent ones on repeat are, “youth is wasted on the young,” and “if I knew then, what I know now.” My late teens and early twenties were filled with competing amounts of adventure and insecurity. But I guess you need to feel shitty about yourself for a little while to understand why feeling confident is just a much better way to live your life. Don’t get me wrong, I still find myself studying my dimpling thighs in the mirror and reciting tired self deprecating statements in response to compliments; things like, “Aw thanks. But I still have five pounds to lose,” or “I hate my freckles.” Despite this, I’ve pulled out a seat for 29 and plan on serving her a glass of Barolo when she comes along. Have a great weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

